Celebrating Global Unity: The 2025 Zayed Award for Human Fraternity

Sheik Zayed Awards

Zayed Award for Human Fraternity stands as a beacon of hope. It honors those who work tirelessly to foster peace and solidarity. The award is named in honor of the late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, the founder of the United Arab Emirates. This prestigious award celebrates his enduring legacy of leadership, humanitarianism, and the pursuit of peaceful coexistence.

The award, first established in 2019, has quickly gained recognition as an independent global prize that transcends borders and backgrounds. Its mission is simple yet profound: to recognize individuals and entities from all walks of life who exemplify solidarity, integrity, fairness, and optimism. The honorees of the Zayed Award for Human Fraternity are making significant strides towards a more harmonious world.

A Call for Nominations

The quest for the 2025 honorees has officially begun, with the nomination window opening on June 3, 2024. Eligible nominators, including members of governments, heads of non-governmental organizations (NGOs), academics, spiritual leaders, and other influential figures, are encouraged to submit their candidates by October 1, 2024. Nominations can be made through the official website. 

This year’s award comes with a substantial financial prize of $1 million. In doing so, they provide significant support to further the humanitarian efforts of the recipients. The announcement of the award winners will coincide with the International Day of Human Fraternity on February 4, 2025. The date also marks the anniversary of the historic Document on Human Fraternity, co-signed by His Holiness Pope Francis and His Eminence Ahmed Al-Tayeb, Grand Imam of Al-Azhar, during their landmark meeting in Abu Dhabi.

Celebrating a Legacy of Compassion

The Zayed Award for Human Fraternity is more than just an accolade. It is a tribute to the values and moral legacy of Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan. His commitment to humanitarianism, respect for diversity, and relentless efforts to support people irrespective of religion, gender, race, or nationality are the guiding principles of this award.

Since its inception, the award has honored an illustrious list of leaders, activists, and humanitarian organizations from around the globe. Past recipients include: Pope Francis, head of the Catholic Church (honorary recipient), Grand Imam of Al-Azhar Ahmed Al-Tayeb (honorary recipient), UN Secretary-General António Guterres, Latifa Ibn Ziaten, activist against extremism, Their Majesties King Abdullah II bin Al Hussein and Queen Rania Al Abdullah of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, The Foundation for Knowledge and Liberty (FOKAL), a Haitian humanitarian organization, The Community of Sant’Egidio organization, Shamsa Abubakar Fadhil, Kenyan peacebuilder, Nahdlatul Ulama and Muhammadiyah, Indonesian charitable organizations, Professor Sir Magdi Yacoub, world-renowned cardiac surgeon, and Sister Nelly Leon Correa, founder of a Chilean NGO. 

These honorees reflect the diverse and impactful ways in which individuals and organizations can contribute to human fraternity and global peace.

Looking Forward

The 2025 Zayed Award for Human Fraternity aims to those who dedicate their lives to advancing peace and solidarity. The award not only honors their achievements but also inspires others to follow in their footsteps.

The upcoming ceremony in Abu Dhabi promises to be a momentous occasion. It will celebrate the power of human fraternity and the enduring legacy of Sheikh Zayed. This event acts as a reminder of the profound impact of  peace and unity can have on the world.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.